Current News Today

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Saso Moves Into Tie With Tavatanakit for Rolex ANNIKA Major Award | LPGA |

With her playoff victory over Nasa Hataoka in the U.S. Women’s Open, Yuka Saso moved into a tie for first place with ANA Inspiration winner Patty Tavatanakit for the prestigious Rolex ANNIKA Major Award. They both have 60 points in the competition to see who performs best in the five major championships.

By finishing second, Hataoka picked up 24 points and is tied with Lydia Ko for fourth place, right behind Shanshan Feng, who is third with 32 points. Tied for sixth are Nelly Korda, Sei Young Kim, Nanna Koerstz Madsen and Lexi Thompson with 18 points.  Inbee Park, Jin Young Ko and Megan Khang round out the top 10 with 16 points.

The Rolex ANNIKA Major Award was established in 2014 to recognize the Player who, during a current LPGA Tour season, has the most outstanding major championship record. Points are awarded to all players who finish in the top 10 and ties at all five majors. A player must win a major to be eligible for the award.

The first winner was Michelle Wie in 2014 followed by Inbee Park, Lydia Ko, So Yeon Ryu, Ariya Jutanugarn and Jin Young Ko. There was no winner in 2020 because the Evian Championship was canceled by COVID-19.

Next up is the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at Atlanta Athletic Cub June 24-27. That’s followed by the Amundi Evian Championship July 22-25 and then the AIG Women’s Open Aug. 19-22.

Read More:Saso Moves Into Tie With Tavatanakit for Rolex ANNIKA Major Award | LPGA |

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.